Skip to content

How it’s done, XVIII

January 5, 2015
Fr. Kelaher.

Fr. Kelaher.

ONE of the great questions facing the American church in the 21st century is that of evangelism. How do we reach the unchurched? How do we reach those who have forsworn the church? How do we answer the common question of those outside the church, which is: What does any of this have to do with me? I think those of us within the church often forget how the institution looks from without.

But here, the Revd Edward Kelaher, rector of All Saints Church in Chevy Chase, Md., has done it right. Clicking the link for his church’s service schedule yields these paragraphs, a small but sensitive bit of evangelism on a page likely to be seen by visitors and seekers as they wonder, What does any of this have to do with me?


You are invited to visit and talk.

There was a long time in my life when I wanted to believe in something but could not see how it could be Jesus Christ and the unconditional love and forgiveness promised in Him. Now that seems to be about the only thing I can truly believe in.

If you have an obstacle to belief, a lack of peace of mind, or perhaps a problem with relationships or situations, please know that I would be very glad to sit and listen, or to just see you among us.

Having walked your path myself, maybe I can listen and offer something to help. The Bible says that if you ask you will receive and if you knock the door will be opened. For a long time I never believed that, but now I know it to be true.

Please come to visit this or any Sunday. You can get our service times here.

Or, just give me a call so we can set a time to sit together. I genuinely enjoy listening and sharing matters of faith and heart.

Ed Kelaher

One Comment leave one →
  1. Collection of Interests permalink
    January 12, 2015 16:03

    Reblogged this on Where I Am Suppose To Be.

Leave a Reply

