Skip to content

How it’s done, VII

September 4, 2012

The Choir of Westminster Abbey sings Psalm 67.


The comments on YouTube are truly outstanding:

There are still a fair few Anglican services where this is part of the normal service, at least in London. Fortunately not everywhere has fallen prey to rock bands, projector screens and the ecstatic waving of arms…

Quality trumps quantity. I’m in my late 20s and I can’t even stomach “charismatic” Anglican services. For me, it’s the Authorised Version of the Bible and Cranmer’s Prayerbook!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. WearyPilgrim permalink
    September 4, 2012 19:48

    My thanks to the previous posters for their comments. Ah, “We few, we happy few, we band of brothers . . .”.

    I LOVE Anglican chant (and I am a Congregationalist!). There was a time, during the twentieth century, when it was not terribly uncommon to hear it sung in non-Anglican churches. Our own successive denominational hymnals, from the turn of the century up to 1958, contained quite a few chant settings. A Canadian Baptist friend has told me of growing in rural New Brunswick and singing chanted Psalms every Sunday in his local Baptist church.

    Does anyone know of parishes — whether Anglican, Episcopal, or not — where the congregation sings the chants as vigorously and enthusiastically as the choir? When I have visited Episcopal churches, usually the choir does the singing and very few (if any) in the congregation join in. King’s Chapel, the notable Anglican-turned-Unitarian church in Boston, is an exception.

  2. September 30, 2012 13:12

    Funny, when I think of this psalm, I think of this:

    More seriously, we use the simplified form on Sundays, and people do sing with us.

Leave a Reply

